h1

My vacation/training in Orlando, Florida Pt.5

February 25, 2007

Ah, its Sunday, Feburary 11, 2007. The time now is 8:00 am and I’m waiting outside of the hotel for the rest of my co-workers so we can enjoy our one day off. As soon as the rest of the co-workers arrived, we went off to some of the attractions that Orlando, Florida had to offer.
While we was on the interstate, we all discussed where do we want to go. Everyone said that they really don’t care, but me on the other hand…I would suggested that we all go to Universal Studios. Compare to Disney World, Universal Studios was a lot more fun because of the rides and the resturants they had. But that was when I was 11 years old though. So we ended going to Universal Studios and found a good parking space around 10:30. And it was easy to remember because the parking lot that we parked in had a yellow sign that had a number and said “Remember King Kong”, which was pretty unique. All the other levels of the parking lot had other signs that said something like “Remember Jaws” or “Remember Jurassic Park”.
To our surprise, Universal Studios wasn’t open until 11:00 am. Good thing that was got there before the crowd showed up. When Universal Studios finally opened, it looked like all hell had broke loose. There were little kids screaming, the different cartoon characters were hugging them screaming kids, and many tourists (like us) walking around to see what’s there to do.
The question “Does anyone want to go on any rides?” was brought up and most of my co-workers said that they don’t like riding rides. Hmph! What a bunch of wimps! But there were only 2 co-workers out of the 5 that do love going on rides…Me and a Mrs. Joan. But when we saw the prices, we decided not to go on any rides. Hell, do you think I will pay $77 dollars just to ride some rides for one day, you are crazy (if there were any coupons at our rooms like the resemptionist said there were, things might be a little different).
We decided to walk around to see what places are in Universal Studios and at the same time, I was taking pictures of the places we were passing by. The Hard Rock cafe sign, The Universal Studio globe, and anything that might catch my eye. I stopped by 2 souvenir shops while we was walking. The first one I got all my family’s shot glasses from. My mom’s shot glass says “Diva” and my dad’s says “Assume the position PLEASE!!!”. My sister’s shot glass says “Drink until he’s cute” and mines said “Chicks Rule!”. Next, I saw a Universal Studios store to get the rest of the souvenirs. Everyone in my family will get 2 gifts (that way no one will argue who has the best gift). I bought my parents, sister and myself a T-shirt. Mines, in particular, had a picture of spider-man crawling in the shadows (I bought it because it looked so cool). I bought my first 2 cousins their birthday gifts because one of their birthdays is in Feburary while the other is in March. One had a Spider-man plate set and the other had a Dora the Explorer plate set. I bought my sister’s best friend Brandi (now considered family because we see her everyday) a spider-man dog tag with her name on it and a shot glass (from the other store) that has the recipe of a “Sex on the Beach” drink.
It was already noon after I done my shopping and everyone got a little hungry. We decided to go to different resturants according to our desire. Me and Mrs. Joan decided we wanted to go to the Bob Marley resturant. But when we got there, it was closed until 4:00 pm because it was a bar-type of resturant. So I took pictures of the place and walked away (crying inside) to meet with everyone else at a resturant that is Bubba Grump’s Shrimp. I just bust out laughing because it was named after the character in the movie “Forest Gump” and what do know…the resturant was playing the movie as well to entertain the customers. I usually don’t eat seafood because I couldn’t get past the smell that comes with it. But after a tried some shrimp lunch basket, it was pretty good. After our meal, we decided to leave and take a trip to Downtown Disney.
I never thought Downtown Disney would be huge. The only problem is the parking. Ever since the first day we got to Orlando, I notice something…there are some crazy drivers down here! Anyways, since we were staying for an hour and a half (2:00), we decided to explore around by ourselves and come back at the enterance. Knowing me, I took pictures of many stores that I came across. The Disney Quest attraction, Hollywood Stars or something, especially the Virgin Records store. I spend most of my time there because of the music playing. The song that was playing was called “Say it Right” by Nelly Furtado. I found myself dancing to it with some of the workers at the store. Before I realized, it was time to go (awww!).
We got back to our hotel around 2:30. I found myself dancing to “Say it Right” again. I just couldn’t help myself. After all of that (while listening to more music), I took a shower and took a nap.
Hours later, me and the co-workers decided to get together so we can study for the recipes in Manchu Wok. Because when we get back tomorrow, it won’t be easy. So we memorized and revised our notes, referred to our huge recipe book, and studied our butts off. After they let, I put my stuff up, went to sleep, and cried (sarcastically) because I know we had to report to work again the next day.

*To be continued…

Leave a Reply

